Scientists give Religion too much Respect

I don’t normally get political here but I wanted to reblog this interesting soap box rant from a fellow prehistory blogger. It will probably offend those of you easily offended but I certainly feel his pain. The frustration of dealing with with the crazy, whether it is from religious fundamentalists or random people wanting to censor the things that offend THEM. Try to read it with an open mind.

GeorgiaBeforePeople

Warning: I’m standing on my soap box today.  This blog article might offend Christians, Jews, Muslims, mentally disabled people, the LGBT community, and Native Americans.

I was having a hard time understanding a recent news report on National Public Radio.  The story was about opposition to the execution of a mentally disabled man in Georgia.  I couldn’t figure out what the hell mentally disabled meant.  When I think of the disabled, I think of someone like my wife who can’t walk.  Finally, I remembered mentally disabled was the politically correct term for retarded.  Politically correct fascists have declared the word, retarded, to be offensive and derogatory.  I don’t understand how calling someone mentally disabled could be any less offensive than referring to them as retarded.  Public figures are so afraid now of offending certain groups of people they use confusing terms that just muddy communication.  Another example is the ban…

View original post 855 more words

About George Crawford

archaeologist, archer, primitive technologist, and wannabee fiddler...mostly
This entry was posted in Archaeology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

